Departments‎ > ‎

Board of Supervisors

About the Board of Supervisors

The Board of Supervisors is the governing body of the County and a number of special districts. Within the limits of state law, the Board is empowered to adopt ordinances, establish programs, levy taxes, appropriate funds, appoint certain officials, and zone property in the unincorporated area. In addition, members of the Board represent the County on numerous intergovernmental bodies. Board members, in partnership with County staff, work to ensure the services and programs essential to the prosperity of Modoc County continue to be delivered.

The five members of the Board are elected on a non-partisan basis to serve four-year terms. Each is elected from one of the five supervisorial districts of the County. Supervisors from Districts 1 and 5 are elected in gubernatorial election years (2006, 2010, etc.) while supervisors from Districts 2, 3 and 4 are elected in presidential election years (2004, 2008, etc.).

At the beginning of each year, the Board chooses from its members a Chairperson and a Vice-Chairperson to serve during the ensuing year. The Chairperson presides at Board meetings and signs documents in the name of the County. The Vice-Chairperson substitutes when the Chairperson is absent.