Our Mission
Partnering with our communities, to deliver financially sustainable services that promote healthy and safe communities, to enhance economic vitality while adhering to the laws and supporting Modoc's unique qualities.

2024 Chair of the Board 
Shane Starr

  District II
Term Expiration: January 6, 2025

Shane Starr
Phone: (530) 520-2471
E:Mail: shanestarr@co.modoc.ca.us

2024 Vice-Chair of the Board 
Elizabeth Cavasso
District IV
Term Expiration: January 6, 2025

Phone: (530) 640-0002
E-Mail: elizabethcavasso@co.modoc.ca.us

Ned Coe
District I
Term Expiration: January 4, 2027

 Kathie Rhoads

  District III
   Term Expiration: January 6, 2025

Geri Byrne
District V
Term Expiration: January 4, 2027
   Ned Coe Supervisor
Phone: (530) 949-7018
E-Mail: nedcoe@co.modoc.ca.us
  Phone: (530) 233-1962
 E-Mail: kathierhoads@co.modoc.ca.us
   Phone: (541) 891-7518
 E-Mail: geribyrne@co.modoc.ca.us  

About the Board of Supervisors
The County of Modoc is a General Law County, and the County Board of Supervisors operates as both the legislative and executive authority of the county, as well as having quasi-judicial authorities, per Government Code Section 2500. The California State Association of Counties has a page with detailed information describing county structure and powers. The Board of Supervisors is the governing body of the County and a number of special districts. Within the limits of state law, the Board is empowered to adopt ordinances, establish programs, levy taxes, appropriate funds, appoint certain officials, and zone property in the unincorporated area. In addition, members of the Board represent the County on numerous intergovernmental bodies. Board members, in partnership with County staff, work to ensure the services and programs essential to the prosperity of Modoc County continue to be delivered.

The five members of the Board are elected on a non-partisan basis to serve four-year terms. Each is elected from one of the five supervisorial districts of the County. Supervisors from Districts 1 and 5 are elected in gubernatorial election years while supervisors from Districts 2, 3, and 4 are elected in presidential election years.

At the beginning of each year, the Board chooses from its members a Chairperson and a Vice-Chairperson to serve during the ensuing year. The Chairperson presides at Board meetings and signs documents in the name of the County. The Vice-Chairperson substitutes when the Chairperson is absent.

To obtain a list of the Board of Supervisors Standing and Ad Hoc Committee List click on the link below:
2022-2023 Modoc County Board of Supervisors Ad Hoc Committee List
2022-2023 Board of Supervisors Standing Committee List

Unless otherwise stated on the agenda, the Board meets at the:

Modoc County Courthouse
Board of Supervisors Room
204 S Court Street,
Suite 203
Alturas, CA 96101

Regular board meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month.
Meetings begin at 10:00 a.m. and the public is invited to attend

Matters to be presented at Board meetings are listed in an agenda prepared, in advance, by the Clerk of the Board. To place an item on the agenda, you should contact the Clerk of the Board at (530) 233-6201. Agenda items must be filed with the Clerk of the Board by 5:00 p.m., the Tuesday preceding the meeting.

Citizen involvement is encouraged. You may address the Board on items on the agenda upon recognition by the Chairman. Matters which are under the jurisdiction of the Board, but not on the agenda, may be addressed by the general public during the Public Comment period. The Board limits such comments to three (3) minutes per person.

The Clerk of the Board's Office is located on the second floor of the Courthouse in Room 204. Our contact information is:

204 S. Court Street
Alturas, CA 96101

You can also email the Clerk of the Board at ClerkoftheBoard@co.modoc.ca.us